Thoughts about femininity inspired by the Mrs. Carter Tour

I guess the drone has become more important than the Queen B

What Beyoncé is trying to do with her Mrs. Carter Tour is a tricky and noteworthy move: she’s affirming her freedom to place her marriage and her experience of raising and having a family, a child — her man’s name the symbol of such — above her own professional persona. What started with her affirming that if a man liked it, then he should put a ring on it, very cohesively led to this point in which the sexy lady decided to shout to the world, rather loudly, that married life is delightful, delicious, de-lovely.

Generous displays of legs and cleavage aside, Beyoncé demonstrates to have a very, very conservative personality — at least when we’re talking about love. She does it without denying female power, saying that it is us, girls, who run the world; however, that doesn´t stop her from telling men they’ll only have her through marriage. Now, she’s not only married, but making a point out of being known as a particular man’s wife.

I guess I don’t have a problem with a woman who says she wants to get married. Honestly, I do to. It’s fine that this is important to people. I think the not-so-early feminist approach to sexuality as a right to, say, promiscuity, somehow became a bit of a dictatorship — as if wanting to only have sex with a person you truly love was a dishonor to the feminist cause, as if sexual freedom had to mean having a generous amount of partners to account for. I guess the whole point is to be able to choose freely and not be judged for your personal beliefs and interests concerning self-presentation, love and sex, right?

In this sense, I enjoy Beyoncé’s message: to be free means to be free, including the freedom of publicly loving to be in a family and to have your husband and your children. It’s like saying, hey, I’m not eating frozen food for the rest of my life just because cooking was imposed to women before me and now women should prove to men they are not here to cook for them (nor themselves, nor anyone. ANYONE!). I like cooking, I like sewing, I’d love to be able to spend a lot of time raising my kids, which are non-existent at this point but shall be made in a reasonably near future, and I don´t think I´d ever be able to hire a maid to clean my house because I feel like a house is too personal a thing to be cleaned by someone else (would you hire someone to wipe your ass if you had money to do so? that’s how I feel about someone being paid to do my dishes). I also share most housekeeping activities with my roommate-partner who happens to be a man and who happens to be a person I really enjoy pampering when I’m not tired from work or anything else that might tire me, and that goes both ways too. To take that message about yourself to the general public is fine and I think is a valid message about femininity.

However, however, Mrs. Carter, that’s not quite the right message. I think with this move Beyoncé takes a strange step towards confusing family with the male authority over the family. And that move takes the flavor of all other interesting ones for me. No, no, Beyoncé, you’re not Mrs. Carter; you’re Beyoncé, not just a man’s woman, and you love your family and you love motherhood and you love your man.

One Trackback to “Thoughts about femininity inspired by the Mrs. Carter Tour”

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

IT GIRL

MODA, MAQUIAGEM E BELEZA

Dully Pepper24H

Arte pelo Amor, Arte pelo Mundo, Arte pela Paz!

She's got the Mood

Whatever your mood is you"ll find the vibe

Amigas de Panela

A rotina e as ideias das amigas gastrólogas com receitas fáceis e deliciosas. Compartilhem todos que como nós são amantes da cozinha!

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

The Para-Noir

We drive our deathcrush diamond Jaguar Limousines.

Jasminesfashiontale

A fashion and lifestyle blog with a little of what I love

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

Ja'dore By Design

" I Don't Do Fashion, I am Fashion." - Coco Chanel

FrameWorthyWears

A fashion retrospective from two average gals

#the fashion recipes

styles for all types of women by Claudia

Purple Literature

All things random.

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

